NuvaLoan resources

Compare 22 Smaller Personal Loan Lenders: An Independent NuvaLoan Reference

Published amounts, APR ranges, terms, fees and state footprints for 22 smaller US lenders, laid out so you can compare them on the same terms.

  • Free to use
  • No obligation
  • Soft inquiry to pre-qualify
  • $500–$5,000
A man at a public library desk comparing two tablets side by side while researching personal loan lenders

What This NuvaLoan Lender Comparison Covers

This NuvaLoan page compares 22 smaller and mid-size US lenders that make installment and personal loans in or near the $500 to $5,000 range, using the amounts, APR ranges, terms, fees and state footprints each one publishes. NuvaLoan put it together as an independent reference, not as a ranking of partners.

Most personal loan comparison lists focus on the biggest national banks. Borrowers who need $800 for a car repair or $3,000 to clear a medical bill often end up with a very different group of companies: branch-based consumer finance firms, online installment lenders, and fintech platforms that lend down to $1,000 or $2,000. Those are the names covered here.

Every figure on this page is shown as published by each lender, or by a reputable review source where the lender does not post it, at the time of writing. Rates, fees, personal loan sizes and state lists change often. Treat this page as a starting point and confirm current terms directly with any lender before you sign anything. The NuvaLoan team reviews the list periodically, but a lender's own disclosure always wins.

How the 22 Lenders Were Selected

Each lender on this list makes fixed-payment installment loans, lends at least part of the $500 to $5,000 range, operates in more than one state, and is not a big national bank.

We started with a wide list of consumer lenders and removed any that failed one of four tests. The goal was a practical set of names a borrower with average or below-average credit might actually run into when shopping for a small personal loan, whether or not that borrower ever submits a Nuva loan request.

  • Product type: repayment in equal installments over several months or years. Single-payment products and lenders built around short-term advances against your next paycheck were excluded.
  • Ownership model: tribal lenders were excluded, because their legal status can limit the state consumer protections a borrower relies on.
  • Loan size: the lender must fund at least some personal loans at or below $5,000. Lenders whose minimum starts above $5,000 were left out.
  • Verifiable facts: we kept only lenders whose core terms could be checked against the lender's own site or an established review publisher. Where a detail such as a minimum credit score is not published, the page says "not disclosed."

The list runs from very high-cost online lenders to near-prime fintech platforms, so APRs span a wide range. That spread is deliberate: it shows how much the same $2,000 personal loan can cost depending on where you borrow. For reference, lenders in the NuvaLoan network quote APRs from 5.99% to 35.99%, so any lender above that line is noticeably more expensive.

What to Compare Between Personal Loan Lenders

Compare lenders on seven points: APR range, loan amounts, repayment terms, fees, the credit profile they accept, funding speed, and whether they lend in your state.

  • APR range. The annual percentage rate folds interest and most upfront fees into one yearly figure. Our plain-English definition of APR explains why it matters more than the interest rate alone.
  • Loan amounts. Check both the minimum and the maximum personal loan size. Several fintech lenders start at $2,000, and some states set higher minimums.
  • Terms. Longer terms lower the monthly payment but raise total interest.
  • Fees. Origination fees of up to 10% or more can be taken out of your proceeds. Late, returned-payment and card-payment fees vary widely.
  • Credit profile. Some lenders publish a minimum score; many do not. NuvaLoan network lenders also set their own standards.
  • Funding speed. Ranges from same day at a branch to several business days online.
  • State availability. Branch lenders often operate in 8 to 24 states, and online lenders exclude states with strict rate caps.

To see where typical rates fall for different credit bands, our overview of current personal loan rate ranges gives useful context before you read the table below.

How NuvaLoan Relates to These Lenders

NuvaLoan is a free matching service, not a lender, and the companies on this page are not necessarily in its network. NuvaLoan receives no payment for this comparison page.

When you submit a Nuva loan request, NuvaLoan passes it to personal loan lenders in its own network, and those lenders make every credit decision, set rates and terms, and fund loans. That network is separate from this list. Some of the 22 lenders here may never appear as a Nuva loan match, and inclusion on this page is not an endorsement.

We publish this comparison because borrowers ask how the wider market looks, and a matching service is most useful when you can judge any offer against real alternatives. If you prefer to apply to one of these lenders directly, that is a reasonable choice. If you use NuvaLoan instead, the same checklist applies to whatever Nuva loan offer you receive, and NuvaLoan costs nothing to use.

Figures change. All amounts, APRs, terms and fees on this page are as published by each lender or a review source at the time of writing. Confirm the current terms in the lender's own disclosures before accepting any loan.

Summary Table: 22 Lenders at a Glance

The NuvaLoan summary table below lines up each lender's published personal loan amounts, APR range, terms and credit profile so you can shortlist two or three names before reading the detailed sections.

Published terms for 22 smaller US installment and personal loan lenders (confirm current terms with each lender)
LenderLoan amountsAPR rangeTermsCredit profile / notes
OppLoans$500–$5,000129%–195%9–18 monthsNo minimum score; no origination or late fees
RISE Credit$300–$5,00060%–299%7–36 monthsMinimum score not disclosed; terms vary by state
NetCredit$1,000–$10,00034.99%–99.99%6–60 monthsMinimum score not disclosed by lender; no late fees
Integra Credit$500–$3,000149%–399%10–21 monthsMinimum score not disclosed; no origination fee
Personify Financial$500–$15,00036%–179.5%12–48 monthsMinimum score not disclosed; fee up to 5% in some states
Oportun$300–$10,00031.95%–35.95%12–54 monthsNo minimum score; origination fee up to 10%
World FinanceAbout $450–$10,000Not disclosed as a range; varies by size and stateExamples from 5–36 monthsBranch-based; flat or percentage origination fee
Security Finance$491–$2,600Up to 124.48%8–24 monthsNo minimum score; credit check; branch-based
Heights FinanceUp to $10,000Not disclosedNot disclosedBranch-based in 13 states; credit check
Tower LoanUp to $6,000 online; up to $20,000 in branchNot disclosed as a range12–36 monthsBranch-based in 8 states; state-based fees
1st Franklin FinancialUp to $15,000Up to 35.99%15–60 monthsMinimum score not disclosed; 10 states
Republic FinanceUp to $25,000Up to 35.99%12–60 monthsNo minimum score; 16 states
Regional Finance$600–$45,000Not disclosed by lenderNot disclosed by lenderMinimum score not disclosed; 20 states
Mariner Finance$1,000–$25,00018.99%–35.99%12–60 monthsMinimum score not disclosed by lender; state fees
Lendmark Financial$2,000–$3,000 minimum; up to $8,000 unsecuredUp to 35.99%12–72 monthsMinimum score not disclosed; 24 states
Upgrade$1,000–$50,0007.74%–35.99%24–84 monthsAround 580; fee 1.85%–9.99%
Universal Credit$1,000–$50,00011.69%–35.99%36–60 monthsMinimum score not disclosed; fee 5.25%–9.99%
Avant$2,000–$35,0009.95%–35.99%24–60 monthsAround 550; fee up to 9.99%
LendingPoint$2,000–$36,5007.99%–35.99%24–72 monthsAround 660; fee up to 10%
Best Egg$2,000–$50,0006.99%–35.99%36–60 monthsFair credit or better; fee 0.99%–9.99%
Upstart$1,000–$75,0006.3%–35.99%36 or 60 monthsAround 620; fee up to 15%
Prosper$2,000–$50,0008.99%–35.99%24–72 monthsAround 640; fee 1%–9.99%

Scores marked "around" come from review publishers rather than the lender's own site. The detailed sections below explain the fees, funding times and state limits behind each row, and note where a lender prices above the NuvaLoan network ceiling of 35.99% APR.

OppLoans

OppLoans suits a borrower with thin or damaged credit who needs a small installment loan quickly and has no cheaper personal loan option.

OppLoans makes online installment loans from $500 to $5,000 with terms of 9 to 18 months. Published APRs run from 129% to 195%, several times the NuvaLoan network ceiling of 35.99%. There is no origination fee, no late fee and no penalty for paying early.

It does not require a minimum credit score. Reviewers note a soft inquiry with Experian and a check with Clarity, an alternative bureau, and report a minimum income of about $18,000 a year from employment. Approved applicants may be funded the same business day if approved by noon Central time, or the next business day otherwise.

OppLoans does not lend in Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, New York, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia or Washington, D.C.

Drawbacks: the APR is the obvious one. A borrower who qualifies for any personal loan under 36% will almost always pay far less elsewhere, and there is no co-signer or secured option to lower the rate.

RISE Credit

RISE Credit fits a borrower with poor credit who values flexible payment dates and a short cooling-off period, and who accepts a very high APR as the trade-off.

RISE offers online installment loans, a form of personal loan, from $300 to $5,000 with terms of 7 to 36 months. Review sources list APRs from 60% to 299%, depending on state and credit. RISE does not charge an origination fee, a late fee or a prepayment penalty, and it does not publish a minimum credit score.

Funds can arrive as soon as the next business day. RISE lends directly in some states and works through bank partners in others, so personal loan amounts, pricing and features differ by state. A notable feature is a five-day window to change your mind and return the funds.

Drawbacks: at the top of its range, the cost of borrowing can exceed the amount borrowed well before the loan ends. Availability is limited, and some customer reviews cite total repayment far above the original balance. Use it only after cheaper options, including a no-obligation Nuva loan request, are ruled out, and pay it off early if you can.

NetCredit

NetCredit suits a fair-to-poor credit borrower who wants a larger balance and a longer term than most high-cost online lenders allow.

NetCredit offers personal loans of $1,000 to $10,000 with terms of 6 to 60 months. Its own site lists APRs from 34.99% to 99.99% and describes the product as an expensive form of credit. There are no application fees, no late fees, no returned-payment fees and no prepayment penalty, though an origination fee may apply in some states.

NetCredit does not publish a minimum score on its site; one review publisher lists 550. Prequalification uses a soft pull, as many NuvaLoan network lenders also do. Applications approved before 1 p.m. Central time on weekdays are typically funded the same day, and later approvals the next business day.

In some states, loans are made by partner banks. Reviewers report it is unavailable in about 14 states plus Washington, D.C., including New York and Pennsylvania.

Drawbacks: even the lowest published APR sits near the 36% ceiling many consumer advocates use as an affordability line Compare at least one lower-cost personal loan offer first; lenders in the NuvaLoan network stay at or below 35.99%.

Integra Credit

Integra Credit is for a borrower with very limited options who needs a small amount and can repay it quickly; it is one of the most expensive lenders on this list.

Integra Credit offers small personal loans of $500 to $3,000, depending on the state, with terms of about 10 to 21 months. Published APRs run from 149% to 399%. There is no origination fee and no prepayment penalty on these personal loans. Late fees vary by state and are not detailed in public materials, and the lender does not disclose a minimum credit score.

Funds can arrive as soon as the next business day after you sign. Review sources list availability in 23 states, including Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Michigan, Ohio, Texas and Wisconsin. It fits only a genuine emergency with a clear plan to pay off early.

Drawbacks: the rate range is the steepest in this comparison. On a $1,000 balance, interest at these levels can approach or exceed the principal within the term. A credit union small-dollar loan, a hardship plan with the creditor, or a lower-cost personal loan is worth trying first, and a Nuva loan request costs nothing to check.

Personify Financial

Personify Financial suits a borrower with below-average credit who wants a longer repayment term than most high-cost lenders offer and can accept APRs well above 36%.

Personify offers online personal loans from $500 to $15,000 with term choices of 12, 18, 24, 36 or 48 months. Review sources list APRs from 36% to 179.5%. An origination fee of up to 5% may apply depending on the state. Returned-payment fees may be charged; the late fee amount is not disclosed publicly, and neither is a minimum credit score.

Next-day funding is possible, though some personal loans take a few business days. Personify lends in roughly half of US states, concentrated in the South, Midwest and Mountain West, including Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Ohio, Texas and Utah.

Drawbacks: a long term at a triple-digit APR can make the total repaid several times the amount borrowed. Some reviewers also report customer service issues. If you are offered the upper end of the range, pause and compare it with a personal loan priced under 36% before accepting.

Oportun

Oportun suits a borrower with little or no credit history who wants an APR capped in the mid-30s and the option of a storefront.

Oportun makes unsecured personal loans from $300 to $10,000 with terms of roughly 12 to 54 months, and vehicle-secured loans in a handful of states. Review sources list APRs from 31.95% to 35.95%. An origination fee of up to 10% may be deducted from your proceeds. Late fee details are not disclosed in review coverage.

There is no minimum credit score, which makes Oportun a common personal loan choice for newcomers to credit. Funding usually takes one to four business days, and a same-day option to a debit card may be available.

Oportun lends online and through storefronts; NuvaLoan, by contrast, is online only and does not lend. It is not available in Colorado, Connecticut, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, West Virginia or Washington, D.C.

Drawbacks: the starting APR is high for anyone with established good credit, there are no autopay discounts, and funding is slower than many online lenders. It also does not send funds directly to creditors for consolidation.

A woman standing at a fork between two paths in an autumn park, deciding which way to go

World Finance

World Finance suits a borrower who prefers face-to-face service at a local branch and needs a small to mid-size installment or personal loan.

World Finance offers personal loans from roughly $450 to $10,000, with larger amounts in some states. It does not publish a single APR range because cost depends heavily on loan size, term and state. Its Georgia examples show 40.03% APR on a 12-month loan of $1,820 and 27.00% on a 36-month loan of $8,020, with much higher APRs on very small, very short loans.

Origination is either a flat amount of $25 to $100 or a percentage of the loan, depending on the state. Late fees run $5 to $30 per payment or a percentage of the payment, and returned payments cost $10 to $50.

Most applications can be approved in about an hour. Underwriting weighs credit history, income after expenses and collateral; no minimum score is disclosed, and the full state list is not published.

Drawbacks: small personal loans carry steep APRs, and add-on products such as credit insurance may be offered at closing. Ask for the APR with and without any optional product, and compare it with the 35.99% NuvaLoan network ceiling.

Security Finance

Security Finance suits a borrower who needs a small sum, prefers in-person service, and lives in one of its 11 states.

Security Finance makes traditional installment loans, a type of personal loan with equal monthly payments. Review sources list amounts of about $491 to $2,600, set in state-specific increments, with terms of 8 to 24 months and APRs of up to 124.48%. Origination, late and returned-check fees may apply depending on the state, and a convenience fee may be charged for debit card payments. There is no prepayment penalty.

The lender has no minimum credit score but does pull a credit report, and it reports to Equifax and TransUnion. Loans are typically funded the same day at the branch.

Security Finance operates more than 750 branches in Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin. You can start online, but the process is not fully online, unlike a NuvaLoan request, which is entirely online.

Drawbacks: low maximum loan amounts, high APRs, and customer reports of frequent collection calls after a missed payment. Consider it only for a small, short, clearly affordable personal loan after checking lower-cost options.

Heights Finance

Heights Finance suits a borrower in the South or Midwest who wants a branch relationship and a personal installment loan of up to $10,000.

Heights Finance makes personal loans online and through more than 285 branches, operating under four brands: Heights Finance, Covington Credit, Quick Credit and Southern Finance. Personal loans run up to $10,000 depending on your state. Heights does not publish an APR range, terms or a fee schedule on its site; those are provided by branch staff during the application.

Its site lists 13 states: Alabama, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Wisconsin. Applicants must be at least 19 in Alabama. Every personal loan is subject to a credit check and underwriting, and you will need ID, proof of residence and proof of income.

Funding speed is not quantified, though the company describes a quick in-branch process. A minimum credit score is not disclosed, and the lender says it looks beyond the score.

Drawbacks: the lack of published pricing makes side-by-side comparison harder. Ask for the full Truth in Lending disclosure before you commit, and decline optional insurance products if you do not want them.

Tower Loan

Tower Loan suits a Gulf South or Mid-South borrower who wants the option of a larger in-branch loan and a same-day check.

Tower Loan offers personal loans of up to $6,000 online and up to $20,000 in its branches. Standard terms run 12 to 36 months. The lender does not publish an APR range; its site uses 32.99% APR as an example, and actual rates depend on state, amount, term, credit history, income, existing debt and collateral.

Origination fees apply based on your state of residence, and some state-permitted fees are treated as prepaid finance charges, which raises the APR. A minimum credit score is not disclosed. Qualified online applicants can be funded by direct deposit without visiting a branch, and in-branch borrowers can leave with a check the same day.

Tower operates more than 230 locations in Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Missouri, Texas, Illinois, Florida and Tennessee.

Drawbacks: a limited footprint and little published pricing. Request the exact APR and every fee in writing before signing, and compare it with any other personal loan offer you hold.

1st Franklin Financial

1st Franklin Financial suits a Southeastern borrower who wants a branch-based personal loan with an APR capped at 35.99%.

1st Franklin makes fixed-rate personal loans of up to $15,000 with terms of 15 to 60 months for qualified borrowers. Its maximum APR is 35.99%. The company's own example shows a $3,600 loan at 35.99% over 24 months. Late fees apply when a payment is missed or returned, and a $1.50 fee applies to debit card payments in some states, with fee-free payment methods available.

Prequalification uses a soft inquiry, and a hard inquiry follows at approval. Underwriting weighs credit history, payment history and ability to pay; no minimum score is published. If you apply during business hours, approval can come as soon as the next day, and same-day approval and funding is possible when all documents arrive by noon.

1st Franklin lends in 10 states: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia. It reports to Equifax and TransUnion.

Drawbacks: a regional footprint and branch hours that include a half day on Wednesdays. Its APR cap matches the NuvaLoan network ceiling, so pricing is comparable at the top end.

Republic Finance

Republic Finance suits a borrower who wants a sub-36% APR from a branch lender and can visit an office for larger or secured loans.

Republic Finance offers personal loans of up to $25,000, with minimums and maximums set by state and applicant profile. APRs will not exceed 35.99%, and typical terms run 12 to 60 months. Origination, late payment and returned-payment fees may apply, varying by state and credit, and Republic does not post a detailed fee schedule publicly. Review sources report no prepayment penalty is mentioned.

There is no stated minimum credit score, and prequalification does not affect your score. Online personal loans are funded by ACH within one to two business days, while branch borrowers can receive a check the same day.

Republic operates more than 280 branches in 16 states: Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin.

Drawbacks: limited transparency on personal loan fees, a requirement to visit a branch for bigger or secured loans, and weak customer ratings on some review platforms. Ask for the fee schedule before you apply.

Regional Finance

Regional Finance suits a fair-credit borrower in the South or Southwest who wants a larger branch-backed personal loan and is comfortable with an origination fee.

Regional Finance lists personal loans from $600 to $45,000, with the maximum depending on your state and the top end reserved for auto-secured loans. The lender does not publish an APR range or terms on its site. Review publishers list unsecured APRs from roughly 22% to 36%, terms of 24 to 60 months, origination fees of up to 10% depending on state, and a late fee of up to $10. There is no prepayment penalty.

Checking offers does not affect your credit score, and a hard pull follows if you accept. Regional does not publish a minimum score. Funding can come in as little as one business day after approval.

Regional is licensed in 20 states, including Alabama, Arizona, California, Georgia, Illinois, North Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin, and review sources count more than 360 branches. Loans are made by Column, N.A. or Regional Finance affiliates.

Drawbacks: limited published pricing and a sizable possible origination fee that can push a personal loan APR toward the cap.

Mariner Finance

Mariner Finance suits a borrower who wants a branch or online personal loan with a published APR range under 36% and a short satisfaction window.

Mariner makes personal loans from $1,000 to $25,000 with terms of 12 to 60 months. Its site lists APRs from 18.99% to 35.99%, with unsecured loans priced higher than vehicle-secured ones. Online personal loans run $1,500 to $15,000; smaller and larger amounts go through branches. State-specific fees may apply and are disclosed during the application.

Checking your offer uses a soft inquiry. Mariner does not publish a minimum score on its site; one review publisher lists 600. Approval can happen the same business day, though funding may take a few days.

A distinctive personal loan feature is a 15-day satisfaction policy: repay the loan in full within 15 days and Mariner waives all finance charges. Review sources list availability in 27 states, from California and Washington to Florida and New Jersey.

Drawbacks: fee amounts are not posted in advance, and the lender has faced legal scrutiny over lending practices. Read every add-on and fee line before signing.

Lendmark Financial

Lendmark Financial suits a borrower who needs a personal loan of at least $2,000, wants a long term, and values a large branch network.

Lendmark's minimum loan is $2,000 to $3,000 depending on the state, with unsecured loans up to $8,000 and larger amounts available with collateral. Terms run from 12 to 72 months, and APRs on new loans will not exceed 35.99%. Origination and other state-permitted fees may apply; the lender's own example shows a 29.00% interest rate becoming a 33.10% APR once fees are included. There is no prepayment penalty.

Lendmark publishes no minimum score. It verifies income, may require collateral for approval or better pricing, and reports to all three bureaus. The lender says a majority of recent applications were approved and funded within one business day.

Lendmark runs more than 550 branches across 24 states, including Colorado, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Washington and West Virginia, which several online lenders skip.

Drawbacks: it is not an option for loans under $2,000, and fees can add several points to the APR. For smaller amounts, a Nuva loan request covers $500 and up. Compare the APR, not the interest rate, when you look at a Lendmark offer.

Upgrade

Upgrade suits a fair-credit borrower who wants a sub-36% APR, a $1,000 minimum in most states, and the widest range of term lengths on this list.

Upgrade offers personal loans from $1,000 to $50,000 with terms of 24 to 84 months. APRs run from 7.74% to 35.99%, and an origination fee of 1.85% to 9.99% is deducted from your proceeds. A late fee of up to $10 applies after 15 days, and a returned payment costs $10. There is no prepayment penalty, and an autopay discount is available.

Review sources list a minimum score of about 580, lower than most near-prime personal loan platforms. Funds can be sent as soon as one day after verification, though some borrowers wait several business days. Upgrade lends nationwide, with higher state minimums in Georgia ($3,005) and Massachusetts ($6,600).

Who it fits: someone with a score in the high 500s or 600s who wants a $1,000 to $5,000 personal loan at far lower cost than the high-APR lenders above.

Drawbacks: the origination fee reduces the cash you receive, so borrow slightly more only if the math still works. Some customers report long waits for verification.

Universal Credit

Universal Credit suits a borrower with fair or rebuilding credit who wants a fixed three- to five-year personal loan through an Upgrade-run platform.

Universal Credit is an online personal loan platform managed by Upgrade. It offers loans of $1,000 to $50,000 with terms of 36 to 60 months. APRs run from 11.69% to 35.99%, and the origination fee ranges from 5.25% to 9.99%, deducted from your proceeds. A late fee applies, though the amount is not stated in review coverage, and a minimum credit score is not disclosed.

You may receive funds within one business day after the loan closes. Because the platform runs on Upgrade's infrastructure, state availability broadly tracks Upgrade's, but confirm eligibility in your state during prequalification.

Drawbacks: the minimum origination fee of 5.25% is higher than several competitors' floors, and there is no term shorter than 36 months. For a small balance you plan to clear within a year, a shorter-term personal loan may cost less overall, and a Nuva loan request can show terms from 3 months.

Avant

Avant suits a borrower with a score in the 550 to 690 range who needs $2,000 or more and wants next-day funding.

Avant offers unsecured personal loans of $2,000 to $35,000 with terms of 24 to 60 months. APRs run from 9.95% to 35.99%, and an administration fee of up to 9.99% is deducted from the proceeds. Review sources list no prepayment penalty; the late fee amount is not stated in review coverage.

Avant accepts scores as low as about 550, and reviewers describe its typical borrower as having a score in the 630 to 689 band and an APR in the mid-to-high 20s. Funds can arrive as soon as the next business day.

Avant is not available in Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Washington or West Virginia.

Drawbacks: no co-signer, joint or secured options to improve your rate, and the upfront fee trims the amount deposited. On a $2,000 personal loan, a 9.99% fee means you receive about $1,800 while repaying the full $2,000 plus interest.

LendingPoint

LendingPoint suits a fair-to-good credit borrower who needs $2,000 or more and wants funding as quickly as one business day.

LendingPoint makes personal loans from $2,000 to $36,500 with terms of 24 to 72 months. APRs run from 7.99% to 35.99%, and an origination fee of up to 10% may apply depending on your state. Late fee details are not stated in the review coverage we checked.

Review sources list a minimum credit score of about 660, which is higher than several online peers. Funding can arrive as quickly as one business day after you sign the agreement.

LendingPoint does not serve residents of Nevada or West Virginia; elsewhere, availability is broad.

Drawbacks: no co-signer or joint option, a possible fee of up to 10%, and a $2,000 floor that rules it out for smaller needs. A borrower with a score in the 500s will likely need a different personal loan lender on this list.

Best Egg

Best Egg suits a borrower with fair credit or better who needs $2,000 or more and wants a three- to five-year fixed-rate personal loan.

Best Egg offers personal loans from $2,000 to $50,000 with terms of 36 to 60 months. APRs run from 6.99% to 35.99%. The origination fee ranges from 0.99% to 9.99% of the loan, with a minimum of 4.99% on terms of four years or longer. Review sources report no late fee and no prepayment penalty.

Best Egg recommends fair credit or better; one review publisher lists a minimum of 600. Funds can arrive in as little as 24 hours, with deposits typically landing within one to three business days after verification.

State minimums are higher in Georgia ($3,001), Ohio ($5,001) and Massachusetts ($6,500). Best Egg is not available in Iowa, Vermont, West Virginia, Washington, D.C. or US territories. Secured personal loan options backed by home fixtures or vehicle equity also exist in many states.

Drawbacks: not built for scores below the 600s, and the fee floor on longer terms raises the cost of stretching payments out.

Upstart

Upstart suits a borrower with a short credit history but solid income or education who needs at least $1,000 and can choose between a three- or five-year term.

Upstart is a lending platform; its personal loans are originated by partner banks and credit unions. It offers personal loans of $1,000 to $75,000 with fixed APRs of 6.3% to 35.99% and terms of 36 or 60 months only. Origination fees range up to 15% of the loan, among the highest ceilings on this list, and the lender's own example shows an 8.15% fee. There is no prepayment penalty.

Review sources list a minimum score of about 620. Upstart's model weighs factors beyond the score, such as education and employment. If you accept by 5 p.m. Eastern on a business day, funds are sent the next business day.

Some states have higher minimums: Georgia ($3,100), Hawaii ($1,500) and Massachusetts ($7,000).

Drawbacks: only two term options, no autopay discount, and a fee that can take a large bite out of proceeds.

Prosper

Prosper suits a borrower with a score in the 600s who wants flexible terms from two to six years and the option to add a co-borrower.

Prosper offers personal loans from $2,000 to $50,000 with terms of two to six years. APRs run from 8.99% to 35.99%, and the origination fee ranges from 1% to 9.99%, deducted from proceeds. Review sources note that the portion of a fee above 5% may be refunded if you pay off early. The late fee is the greater of $15 or 5% of the past-due amount after 15 days.

Review publishers list a minimum score of about 640 for an individual applicant and about 600 with a co-borrower. Funds can arrive as soon as the next business day after final approval. All Prosper personal loans are made by WebBank.

Prosper is not available in Iowa, North Dakota or West Virginia.

Drawbacks: several fee types, no secured option, and phone support limited to weekdays. It is not designed for scores below 600, and its APR ceiling matches the NuvaLoan network's.

How to Choose Between These Lenders

Start with the lowest-cost tier you can realistically qualify for, then narrow by state availability, personal loan size and fees, and move to higher-cost lenders only if cheaper ones decline you.

The 22 lenders fall into three rough cost tiers. Online fintech platforms such as Upgrade, Avant, LendingPoint, Best Egg, Upstart and Prosper cap APRs at 35.99% but often require a score in the high 500s or 600s. Branch-based personal loan lenders such as 1st Franklin, Republic, Mariner, Lendmark and Regional also stay at or near 36% in most states and accept a broader credit range. High-cost online lenders sit far above that line, and the NuvaLoan network sits within the same 35.99% ceiling as the first two tiers.

  1. Check your state first. Several lenders exclude a dozen states, and branch lenders operate in 8 to 24.
  2. Match the personal loan size. Many fintech lenders start at $2,000; for $500 to $1,500, the branch lenders and Upgrade are the main sub-36% options here.
  3. Prequalify with soft pulls. Gather two or three offers without affecting your score.
  4. Compare total cost. Use the NuvaLoan personal loan calculator to turn each APR and term into a monthly payment and total repaid.

For scale, a representative example: a $2,000 personal loan repaid over 12 months at 24.99% APR works out to 12 monthly payments of about $190.08, or about $2,280.94 in total, including about $280.94 in interest. That is an estimate for illustration only. At a triple-digit APR, the same $2,000 would cost several times as much in interest.

Not sure which tier you fit? Our guide to basic personal loan eligibility requirements covers income, age and account rules most lenders share. A Nuva loan request is another way to see what network lenders offer, and it carries no obligation to accept.

Red Flags to Avoid in Any Lender

Walk away from any personal loan lender that asks for money before funding, promises approval regardless of credit, will not show a written APR, or pressures you to sign the same day.

  • Upfront fees before funding. Legitimate personal loan lenders deduct origination fees from proceeds or add them to the balance. They do not ask for a gift card, wire or "insurance deposit" first.
  • No written APR. Federal law requires a Truth in Lending disclosure showing the APR, finance charge and total of payments. If a lender resists showing it, stop.
  • Approval promised to everyone. Real lenders underwrite. A promise that credit does not matter at all is a warning sign.
  • Unlicensed in your state. Check your state's financial regulator for a license before applying for any personal loan.
  • Bundled add-ons. Credit insurance, memberships or "protection plans" added without a clear opt-out raise cost. Ask for the APR without them; NuvaLoan network lenders must show it too.
  • Renewal pressure. Repeated offers to refinance before you have paid down principal can keep you paying interest indefinitely.

The same checks apply to every offer, including any you receive after a Nuva loan request. NuvaLoan never charges you a fee, and a lender in its network that asks for payment before funding should be reported.

How to Compare Offers Side by Side With NuvaLoan's Checklist

Put every offer into the same five columns: amount deposited, APR, term, monthly payment and total repaid, then pick the lowest total cost you can comfortably afford each month.

Personal loan offers rarely look alike. One lender may quote a low interest rate with a large origination fee, another a higher rate with no fee. The APR puts them on common ground, but the total repaid and the cash you actually receive complete the picture.

  1. Write down the amount that will reach your bank account after any fee, whether the offer came directly or through a Nuva loan match.
  2. Record the APR from the official disclosure, not the marketing page.
  3. Note the term and the monthly payment.
  4. Multiply payment by number of months to get total repaid.
  5. List late fees, returned-payment fees and any prepayment penalty.

Our step-by-step guide on how to compare personal loan offers walks through this with worked examples. If a Nuva loan offer and a direct offer from a lender on this page both land on your desk, the same table will show which one costs less.

Whichever route you take, and whether or not you submit a Nuva loan request, borrow only what you need, choose the shortest term you can afford, and confirm every figure with the lender before you sign. Rates and terms on this page were accurate as published at the time of writing, and NuvaLoan will update the comparison as lenders change them.

Ready to see your personal loan options?

One free request, about five minutes, no obligation. Lenders in the NuvaLoan network review requests from $500 to $5,000.

Check Your Options